sofirmccarthy.reismee.nl

"When you get a groove going, time flies."

Dear,


Well, a lot of time has passed since my last post and I’m really sorry about not staying up to date. But I have finally found the time to write a post to update all of you on the last two months. I have, as usual, experienced a lot of new things and had a lot of fun. So to cover all the exciting and American things I’ve done, I made a list and I’ll elaborate as we go along.

23/09/13 – I went with my friend, Laura, and Kevin and Rita to Huntington Beach. When we arrived the weather wasn’t that good but thankfully later on it took a turn and became really sunny. The sea was so beautiful, the colour was so clear that it looked unreal. We stayed there the whole weekend and I had a lot of fun and made a lot of memories (also acquired quite the tan ;p).


12/10/13 – HOMECOMING, my first American event. I really enjoyed the evening and had a great time. I had bought a dress and new shoes for the occasion, if you want to see some pictures just check out my Facebook. It was very different than I expected but nice, it wasn’t celebrated on big scale but we have Winter Formal in December which will be amazing. Now already looking forward to it ;)


19-20/10/13 – San Diego. I went with Rita and Kevin to San Diego to spend the weekend there. We left early in the morning and arrived early afternoon. Firstly, we visited San Diego Zoo and that took up our whole day. We looked everywhere and there were so many animals and things to see, we were definitely entertained the whole time. When I was there I also Skyped with the home front because they had their Halloween Dance and after a couple of tries, it worked. I talked very briefly to them and it was great seeing everyone in their costume. The second day we really didn’t do too much but it was mainly because we were rather tired from all the walking that we did in the zoo.


31/10/13 - Halloween, the typical American holiday. I was really looking forward to celebrating this because we hardly celebrate it in the Netherlands and America is really well known for going big for this day. Anyways, I had bought a matching costume with my friend (we were Batman and Robin) and we went dressed up to school because it was a Thursday. At school, everyone told us we looked amazing and that our costumes were the best. Everyone was really nice and there were definitely some really cool costumes throughout the whole school. In the evening I went trick-or-treating with my friend and her niece, which was a lot of fun. At first it felt very weird just walking up to people’s houses but everyone was really nice and I got the hang of it pretty soon. I received a lot of sweets and had a lot of fun on Halloween. Definitely something we should enforce in Holland!

Now, Thanksgiving has just passed and then my Winter Formal and Christmas will follow soon. It’s probably going to take a while before I post again so that’s why I wish everyone a great Christmas, Sinterklaas and what else everyone is doing.

Enjoy your time!


Love,



Dear,


Nou, het is alweer een aardige poos geleden sinds mijn laatste bericht, en ik zal toegeven dat ik het niet heel erg goed heb bijgehouden. Maar ik heb nu eindelijk de tijd gevonden om wat te schrijven dus hier is mijn post over de afgelopen twee maanden. Zoals gewoonlijk heb ik ontzettend veel nieuwe en leuke dingen gedaan waar ik nu over ga vertellen. Dus ik heb een lijstje gemaakt en ik zal over elke gebeurtenis vertellen zodat ik niks vergeet.

23/09/13 – Ik ben met mijn vriendin, Laura, en Kevin en Rita naar Huntington Beach geweest. Toen wij daar aan kwamen was het weer erg slecht maar gelukkig veranderde dat later op de dag en wij hadden geweldig mooi weer. De zee was ontzettend mooi, de kleur was zo helder dat het niet echt leek maar net een schilderij. Wij bleven daar twee dagen en het was super leuk en ik heb zeker herinneringen gemaakt die ik niet snel zal vergeten (ben ook wat bruiner geworden;p).


12/10/13 – HOMECOMING, mijn eerste echt Amerikaanse event. Het was erg leuk en ik heb het erg naar mijn zin gehad. Ik had een nieuwe jurk en schoenen gekocht voor het feest, als je het nog niet gezien hebt kan je het opzoeken op mijn Facebook-account. Het was anders dan ik had verwacht maar wel erg leuk, het was niet heel erg groot gevierd maar daar hebben wij Winter Formal voor waar ik ontzettend veel zin in heb!


19-20/10/13 – San Diego. Ik ben samen met Kevin en Rita naar San Diego geweest voor een weekendje. Wij vertrokken vroeg in de ochtend en kwamen daar aan rond de vroege middag. Als eerst gingen wij naar San Diego Zoo en dat nam onze hele dag in beslag. Wij zijn door de hele dierentuin gelopen en wij hebben alle dieren gezien, het was echt super gaaf en het weer was fantastisch. Toen ik daar was heb ik ook met het thuisfront geskyped omdat hun een Halloween dans hadden ik iedereen in kostuum was en het was erg leuk om met iedereen te praten en eventjes kort te zien. De tweede dag deden wij niet heel erg veel omdat wij voornamelijk erg moe waren van al het lopen in de dierentuin, en zo kwam dit geweldige weekend tot een einde.


31/10/13 - Halloween, een typisch Amerikaans feest. Ik keek echt uit naar deze dag omdat wij het nauwlijks vieren in Nederland maar het echt heel erg groot gevierd wordt in Amerika. Ik had van te voren al een kostuum met mijn vriendin gekocht ( wij waren Batman & Robin) en wij gingen in kostuum naar school omdat het een gewone lesdag was. Heel veel mensen op school waren ook in kostuum en het zag er allemaal zo vet uit, mensen kwamen ook naar ons en zeiden dat we er echt leuk uitzagen en dat wij de coolste kostuums hadden. Iedereen was echt super aardig en toen in de avond ging ik trick-or-treating met mijn vriendin en haar nicht, wat ook heel erg leuk was. Ik heb veel snoep gekregen en het was een onvergetelijke Halloween. Zeker weten iets wat wij ook in Nederland zouden moeten doen!

Het is net Thanksgiving geweest en mijn Winter Formal gala en Kerst zal snel volgen. Wat gaat de tijd toch snel! Het zal waarschijnlijk ook weer erg lang duren voordat ik wat post dus daarom wens ik iedereen nu al een geweldige Kerst, Sinterklaas of andere activiteiten die jullie gaan doen.

Geniet!



Love,

Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!